top of page

Ask and you shall receive

Updated: Nov 13, 2020


I have so many needs right now, I don’t know what to do

“…You do not have because you do not ask God.” (James 4 : 2b)

Oh, ok, but how do I know that He will answer my prayer?

“Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives; the one who seeks finds; and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened.” (Matt 7: 7 – 8)

Everyone? But I’m nobody. Why would God be interested in me?

“Which of you, if your (child) asks for bread, will give him a stone? Or if he asks for a fish, will give him a snake? If you, then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give good gifts to those who ask him!” (Matt 7: 9 – 11)

I don’t feel that I have much faith. How much faith is enough?

“If you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mulberry tree, ‘Be uprooted and planted in the sea,’ and it will obey you.” (Luke 17: 6)

Really? Just a tiny amount of faith?

“Truly I tell you, if you have faith and do not doubt… you can say to this mountain, ‘Go, throw yourself into the sea and it will be done. If you believe, you will receive whatever you ask for in prayer.” (Matt 21: 21 -22)

So, I can ask God for a big house and a fast car and He will give them to me?

“When you ask, you do not receive, because you ask with wrong motives, that you may spend what you get on your pleasures.” (James 4: 2b – 3)

Oh right! So, I can’t ask for things with the wrong motives and I’m guessing that I also can’t keep doing those things that I know are wrong?

“Dear friends, if our hearts do not condemn us, we have confidence before God and receive from him anything we ask because we keep his commands and do what pleases him.” (1 John 3: 21 – 22)

Yeah, but, I’ve tried all this, I didn’t ask with the wrong motives, I wasn’t aware of disobeying God in any way, but I still didn’t get what I prayed for.

“And this is the confidence that we have toward him, that if we ask anything according to his will he hears us.” (1 John 5: 14)

Maybe my friend will help me discern His will and pray for the things I need. Is that ok?

“…truly I tell you that if two of you on earth agree about anything they ask for, it will be done for them by my Father in heaven. For where two or three gather in my name, there am I with them.” (Matt 18: 19)

I just need to pray and believe, right?

“…believe that you have received it, and it will be yours.” (Mark 11: 24)

The best is yet to come. God bless – Terry

_______________________________________

Would you like to receive a new message every week? Please fill in your email address below.

167 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Saints

bottom of page